Fresh Install Mint Cinnamon Dummy Output

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
TeethSkylark
Level 1
Level 1

Fresh Install Mint Cinnamon Dummy Output

Post by TeethSkylark »

I made a fresh install of the cinnamon version of Mint, and am receiving the only available output device as Dummy Output. "inxi -Axxx" gives
Audio:
Device-1: Intel Comet Lake PCH-LP cAVS driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel
bus-ID: 00:1f.3 chip-ID: 8086:02c8 class-ID: 0401
Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.15.0-100-generic running: yes
Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 15.99.1 running: yes
Sound Server-3: PipeWire v: 0.3.48 running: yes
It looks like it recognizes that there is hardware for an audio device, but it is not showing in the audio devices menu.
I am very new to Linux and unsure of how to proceed.
TeethSkylark
Level 1
Level 1

Re: Fresh Install Mint Cinnamon Dummy Output

Post by TeethSkylark »

I looked tried some steps from the it's foss article, https://itsfoss.com/fix-sound-ubuntu-1304-quick-tip/ , as well as this thread, viewtopic.php?t=370424, specifically
Screenshot from 2024-03-08 20-39-21.png
Now I receive this when I open pavucontrol. Is says that all of the hardware devices are unplugged
Screenshot from 2024-03-08 20-41-43.png
This is some progress, but I am unsure of how to continue so that it can recognize that they are plugged in.
SMG
Level 25
Level 25

Re: Fresh Install Mint Cinnamon Dummy Output

Post by SMG »

TeethSkylark wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2024 11:53 pmI am very new to Linux and unsure of how to proceed.
Tips for Troubleshooting Sound Issues Rev. 1 is a sticky topic on the Sound forum.