Samba permissions Problems on one folder. Can't write

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
mattbatt
Level 1
Level 1

Samba permissions Problems on one folder. Can't write

Post by mattbatt »

TL:DR No write permission on Windows 10 shared folder, I had it, I lost it, and I fixed it using Windows 10 "Computer Management". It was Windows' Fault.

It's my first post so about me. I've been using Linux recreationally since I built my first Freevo box back in 2004ish, on to LinHES MythtTV and Dual booting with Windows off and on. I'm not a noob but I'm not an expert. I recently Left Manjaro and have come to Mint (the reasons are long and stupid).
I had Samba working on my old Manjaro install on this same PC, I had to nuke that install (stupid reasons).
Due to Windows increasing Inshirtification I'm trying to go Linux full time.
I have had samba access to a Pictures folder on my Windows PC for a long time but somehow I lost it recently.
After days of troubleshooting I finally found that I needed to fix the permissions in Windows in an app that is hidden called "Computer Management" (compmgmt.msc) Under Shared folders double click on the folder, click on the "Share Permissions" tab at the top and add/remove users modify permissions for users of the folder. In my case the users weren't present
To be clear I had set and double checked the permissions for share and security when right clicking on the folder at least a dozen times and I even created a new user on my PC to give him permissions.
I spent hours searching the web and this never showed up as a possible solution. I only found it when I was Googling for how to remove the share, and re-share the folder.
I want to help the next person who might have this issue so I'm documenting my struggle.
RowlandP
Level 4
Level 4