Android Emulator for app [SOLVED]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Gabriele
Level 1
Level 1

Android Emulator for app [SOLVED]

Post by Gabriele »

Let me say I'm new in app development: i know 1: [HTML,CSS,Javascript, php] e 2:Java.

I would like to develop from the existing code of a site in (1) an app. I downloaded android studio in kotlin but documentation of android and google is very confusing and therefore i want to move to another ide.

But i could not find an ide with an emulator like android studio neither documentation.

Can you suggest an emulator on a proper ide (also if I have to pay) with a good docuementation.

I have Visual Studio code put i could not find a proper emulator on extension.
Last edited by Gabriele on Sun Mar 24, 2024 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
spamegg
Level 14
Level 14

Re: Android Emulator for app

Post by spamegg »

I'm afraid Android Studio is by far the best IDE for that.
Other ones don't even come close.
So you'll have to spend some time to learn it properly.
You can't just Google it and get by.

There are courses here, from Android itself:
https://developer.android.com/courses
You have to take the time and finish some of these courses.
(Note that some of the courses use Kotlin, not Java. Scroll down for Java.)

This is a good book, and it's recent enough (4 years old):
https://www.amazon.com/Learn-Android-St ... 08KNZ7X41/
dave0808
Level 5
Level 5

Post by dave0808 »

There is no real alternative. It used to be possible to use Eclipse, but Google switched their focus to what is now Android Studio and support for Eclipse has long disappeared.