Where in the file system is the setting to tune the power limit of my old AMD GPU ?

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
MLG-443
Level 1
Level 1

Where in the file system is the setting to tune the power limit of my old AMD GPU ?

Post by MLG-443 »

Hi, here's the TL;DR:

I need to reduce the power limit of my crusty old AMD Radeon R9 280 to prevent overheating just like I could do in Windows OSes using the AMD Radeon Software. The picture below shows exactly what I mean:

I just need to know how to change the setting labeled "Power Tuning" in that GUI. (Edit.: I DON'T NEED OR CARE FOR THE GUI. Just changing the power consumption limit will do.)

Context:
I am completely new to Linux Mint and it's been a lot of trouble to do (and fix) anything hardware related (except sound now that I think of it). It's now the second week-end I spend fully trying to make things work using a live USB because I am still evaluating if I can do everything important I can already do in Windows 10. Trying to find any software that can do sometimes basic functions - and actually work - has been a challenge on its own.
So I was very happy to discover that I don't need any extra piece of software to change the fan speed of my GPU: I just need to edit the files pwm1 and pwm1_enable both in directory /sys/class/drm/card0/device/hwmon/hwmon0/.
But with respect to the power consumption, I have no clue where that would be. Engine searches are all unhelpful, the ArchLinux wiki doesn't seem to know either and the search for the keyword "power" in the directory "card0" returns hundreds of results without particularly distinctive names ! With the fan control, it's very obvious I am doing it right since I can hear it ! I can't do that with power and I presume it's extremely dangerous to mess with any of the files with the word "power" in the name anyway.