copying 3TB extremely slow

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
User avatar
NoHo Hank
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2022 6:03 am

Re: copying 3TB extremely slow

Post by NoHo Hank »

Actually Internal HDD 4TB and 4TB sata600,same brand and model, copying from old HDD to new.
Demand technology that serves us - https://peoplevsbig.tech/
None of Your Business https://noyb.eu/en
User avatar
Lady Fitzgerald
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6032
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:12 pm
Location: AZ, SSA (Squabbling States of America)

Re: copying 3TB extremely slow

Post by Lady Fitzgerald »

NoHo Hank wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 4:30 am Actually Internal HDD 4TB and 4TB sata600,same brand and model, copying from old HDD to new.
That doesn't help much. Is the second HDD also installed internally or is it being connected via USB? If the latter, USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 up and what hardware are you using to connect? Also, what is the speed of the HDDs? 7200 rpm and 5400 rpm are two common speeds. Telling us the brand and model of the HDDs would also help.
Jeannie

To ensure the safety of your data, you have to be proactive, not reactive, so, back it up!
billyswong
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2485
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 1:02 am

Re: copying 3TB extremely slow

Post by billyswong »

NoHo Hank wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 4:30 am Actually Internal HDD 4TB and 4TB sata600,same brand and model, copying from old HDD to new.
If one is doing disk cloning, disk cloning software such as Clonezilla may provide better performance.
User avatar
Lady Fitzgerald
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6032
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:12 pm
Location: AZ, SSA (Squabbling States of America)

Re: copying 3TB extremely slow

Post by Lady Fitzgerald »

billyswong wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 5:24 am
NoHo Hank wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 4:30 am Actually Internal HDD 4TB and 4TB sata600,same brand and model, copying from old HDD to new.
If one is doing disk cloning, disk cloning software such as Clonezilla may provide better performance.
Good point. Even better, use Foxclone or Rescuezilla (in order of preference). Cloning has the advantage (or disadvantage, depending on the use case) of retaining the source drive's UUID.

One disadvantage of cloning is the computer is tied up while the cloning is in progress, unlike copying which allow the computer to still be used for other things. Another disadvantage is, unlike when using FreeFileSync to copy over data, there is no way to verify the clone didn't have any errors.
Jeannie

To ensure the safety of your data, you have to be proactive, not reactive, so, back it up!
User avatar
NoHo Hank
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2022 6:03 am

Re: copying 3TB extremely slow

Post by NoHo Hank »

Will try FreeFileSync first, and copy the lot in 1 go. thnx
Demand technology that serves us - https://peoplevsbig.tech/
None of Your Business https://noyb.eu/en
Post Reply

Return to “Beginner Questions”