Display resolution changed

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Post by Boo »

this normally happens when you start your computer with the monitor unplugged.

to be safe linux sees there is no monitor and so sets the resolution low so that any monitor plugged in will work.
but if you plug in your monitor and reboot (or maybe just restart the xserver) the resolution should go back to normal.

a reinstall is not the answer.

you may also be able to use the screen resolution app to change it.

I dont know how "smart" the auto screen resolution is. any more info you can give about the how and when would be helpful.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 292
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Post by hairy_Palms »

if that fails try running
sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg --frontend=gnome
for some reason my user settings were overriding xorg and i did that to fix it.
User avatar
surfer57
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:51 pm
Location: Earth, Welcome!

Post by surfer57 »

Oh yeah, sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg --frontend=gnome .... that did it...thanks hairy...I am not worthy
Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”