How to show grub menu

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Dichune
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 6:10 pm

How to show grub menu

Post by Dichune »

How do you enable the grub boot menu you see in different distros for example OpenSUSE, Is it possible and if it is how do you do it?

Brian49
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 611
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: How to show grub menu

Post by Brian49 »

Hold down the Shift key at the start of the boot process. By the way, this same question has already been asked and answered on this page of the forum.

Dichune
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: How to show grub menu

Post by Dichune »

Brian49 wrote:Hold down the Shift key at the start of the boot process. By the way, this same question has already been asked and answered on this page of the forum.
Thanks but how do I enable it so it always shows up?

User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: ¿ǝɯ ǝǝs ɐʎ ʇ,uɐƆ ˙ǝɹǝɥ ʇɥƃᴉɹ ɯ,I
Contact:

Re: How to show grub menu

Post by colyn »

At the terminal type

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /etc/default/grub
You will then see something like this

Code: Select all

# If you change this file, run 'update-grub' afterwards to update
# /boot/grub/grub.cfg.

GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
GRUB_TIMEOUT=10
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""

# Uncomment to disable graphical terminal (grub-pc only)
#GRUB_TERMINAL=console

# The resolution used on graphical terminal
# note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
# you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
#GRUB_GFXMODE=640x480

# Uncomment if you don't want GRUB to pass "root=UUID=xxx" parameter to Linux
#GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true

# Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
#GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_RECOVERY="true"

# Uncomment to get a beep at grub start
#GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"
This line needs to be changed to the below. Originally it is not commented out and timeout=0 but set it to "10"

Code: Select all

#GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=10
Next uncomment this line so it looks like this

Code: Select all

GRUB_GFXMODE=640x480
Save and exit. Next at the terminal type

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
and wait till it is finished. Reboot and you should see the grub menu.

Dichune
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: How to show grub menu

Post by Dichune »

I have done what you showed but when it boots up it's just a black screen and it will just sit there till I press enter like grub is there but the screen is black?

User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: ¿ǝɯ ǝǝs ɐʎ ʇ,uɐƆ ˙ǝɹǝɥ ʇɥƃᴉɹ ɯ,I
Contact:

Re: How to show grub menu

Post by colyn »

Dichune wrote:I have done what you showed but when it boots up it's just a black screen and it will just sit there till I press enter like grub is there but the screen is black?
Did you set the timeout value in the below line to '10'?

Code: Select all

#GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=10
Any changes to the file be sure to run

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
Be sure to allow 10 seconds for grub to boot..

Brian49
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 611
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: How to show grub menu

Post by Brian49 »

colyn wrote: Any changes to the file be sure to run

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
I believe it should be sudo update-grub2 in LM9.

Dichune
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: How to show grub menu (SOLVED)

Post by Dichune »

Thank you guys I've got it working now :D

User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: ¿ǝɯ ǝǝs ɐʎ ʇ,uɐƆ ˙ǝɹǝɥ ʇɥƃᴉɹ ɯ,I
Contact:

Re: How to show grub menu

Post by colyn »

Brian49 wrote:
colyn wrote: Any changes to the file be sure to run

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
I believe it should be sudo update-grub2 in LM9.
I never tried

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub2
since

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
works fine for me.

Another method that works the same is

Code: Select all

sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: How to show grub menu

Post by vincent »

From update-grub2's manual:
update-grub2 is a stub for running update-grub which itself is a stub
for running grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg to generate a grub2
config file.
In other words...all 3 of them work, use whichever one you like best. I like update-grub because it's the shortest amongst the 3 commands. :P
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm

Brian49
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 611
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: How to show grub menu

Post by Brian49 »

Good clarification, thanks.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”