Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
barneyfife
Level 1
Level 1

D-Link DWA-125 Drivers usb wireless adaptor [solved]

Post by barneyfife » Sun Aug 28, 2011 10:53 pm

I am a complete linux newbie, and I just installed Linux Mint 11 LXDE.

I have an old dimension B110 that I am trying to use, laptop shot craps. It does not have a wireless internet card, so I am trying to get a D-Link DWA-125 usb adaptor to work, it worked in XP on the same laptop.

I do not have current internet access with the computer, so if I have to download drivers, it will have to be tranfered via USB drive.

I know Linux is not a beginners OS, so I would like some help. I researched and the fix also requires using the terminal or command prompt. If I could get some assistance, on this I would appreciate it.

Alternatively, if anyone can reccomend a cheap PCI wireless card that works out of the box, I would be happy with that as well.
Last edited by barneyfife on Mon Aug 29, 2011 8:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

remoulder
Level 17
Level 17

Re: D-Link DWA-125 Drivers usb wireless adaptor

Post by remoulder » Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:32 am

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=1085
barneyfife wrote:am trying to get a D-Link DWA-125 usb adaptor to work
Have you actually plugged it in and clicked on the network manager icon to see if any networks are seen?
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.

barneyfife
Level 1
Level 1

Post by barneyfife » Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:26 am