Help with Rcmdr

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
lahirdenganselamat
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:30 pm
Location: Yogyakarta

Help with Rcmdr

Post by lahirdenganselamat » Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:16 am

Recently I installed Rcmdr and found that the R commander can only be launched from R console. It means that the R Commander shortcut on the mintMenu was unuseable right? If it clicked, it just saying : Failed to execute child process "sh -c 'R_DEFAULT_PACKAGES=" (No such file or directory). I can get used to launch Rcmdr from R console, but if there is a way to launch it from the menu (without typing anything) it would be great.
Any help?

User avatar
lahirdenganselamat
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:30 pm
Location: Yogyakarta

Re: Help with Rcmdr

Post by lahirdenganselamat » Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:38 am

Found something about it this day,
I make a launcher to Rcmdr with this command

Code: Select all

sh -c 'R_DEFAULT_PACKAGES="$R_DEFAULT_PACKAGES Rcmdr" R "$@"' 
on my desktop. The command was exactly the same with the launcher on mintMenu. But the one I created on desktop can make R commander launch and the one on mintMenu cannot (as the report above).
I do make the launcher properties just the same, on the launcher type, I select application on terminal, the command like above, etc. It just exactly the same as the one on mintMenu.
My question is, what makes my launcher works and default launcher doesn't?

I really hoping that anyone will answer this post. Kind of sad to see my previous "asking" post get unanswered. :D

User avatar
lahirdenganselamat
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:30 pm
Location: Yogyakarta

Re: Help with Rcmdr

Post by lahirdenganselamat » Fri Dec 23, 2011 6:54 pm

Sundul gan!!

Kermudjin
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm

Re: Help with Rcmdr

Post by Kermudjin » Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:42 pm

I have the same experience. In fact, if you right-click R Commander on the mint menu, there is an option to add the launcher to the desktop. The exact same launcher works from the desktop but not from the menu. Therefore, it must be an idiosyncracy in how the mint menus work.

User avatar
lahirdenganselamat
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:30 pm
Location: Yogyakarta

Re: Help with Rcmdr

Post by lahirdenganselamat » Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:00 pm

Finally, someone answering my post :D thanks Kermudjin

Because you also reporting the same problem, I'd try to install Rcmdr on different distro, to see the error comes from my Mint 11, my gnome 2.3 or others factor. I'll report here soon.

What Mint version do you have Kermudjin?

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”